top of page

Where’s my glow? Pregnancy woes. . .

Updated: Jan 18, 2020

Don’t get me wrong, I have some mama friends who have just slain pregnancy and been the ultimate poster mum for the so called ’pregnant glow’.

However, for those who are currently or have previously struggled in pregnancy with the overwhelming abundance of hideous symptoms available to us. . . I hear you!


YOU ARE NOT ALONE!


So many of us struggle with the different aspects of pregnancy and wonder “why me?” Or just generally feel like we are not coping. Well lets break it down point for point so you can truly understand why you are SUPERWOMAN! Because this sh*t is hard!. . .

1. Morning sickness/Lethargy


This is one that we are almost all lucky enough to struggle with to some degree during pregnancy, whether it be feeling generally low in energy, nausea for the first 12 weeks, or emptying the entire contents of your digestive system for the entire 9 months (hyperemesis gravidarum is real people). There is good reason for this. . . Your body is growing a human!

So give yourself a break wherever you can, put your feet up if you are not yet a mum, and if you are, then say yes to help if ever it is offered. Eat smaller portions more often if possible, stay hydrated, and remember, there IS a finish line.

You are working so damn hard to do something that will make all of this seem like a horrifying dream in a matter of months time.


2. Acne


This pregnancy symptom sure reared its ugly head during my pregnancies (each pregnancy varied in degree).

It is so easy for other people to say “it’s not that bad” or “it’s only until the baby comes”

But when you are the one being affected by the low self esteem and self image, it is hard to hear their words. Just know that you are not alone. Go out of your way to do things that make you feel better about yourself or that you wouldn’t normally treat yourself to. I treated myself to eyelash extensions my entire 2nd pregnancy, for the simple fact that it made me feel slightly more beautiful when I wasn’t wanting to put make up on my already irritated skin.

However I cannot stress how important it is to reach out and speak to someone, professional or otherwise, if you feel that your emotional or mental health is being affected, because we seem to forget sometimes that the main cause for the skin troubles is that our hormones are so horrendously out of whack.


3. Heartburn


As someone who has struggled with bouts of reflux on and off since childhood, this one really took me for a spin.

At some points during my pregnancies I have woken during the night with such intense heartburn that I would begin salivating and gagging. Gaviscon has been my best friend, at times swigging it straight from the bottle.


4. Pain


Back pain, nipple soreness, headaches, pelvic pressure, aching hips, shoulder tension, muscle separation. . . Shall I go on?

I have been unlucky enough to experience all of these at some point during my pregnancies, however I know I am not alone and this is not even the half of it.

Suggestion; evening baths were the only way I could provide my body with some short lived relief from the pressure after a long day and prepare myself to settle for sleep (or what there is to be had of it in late pregnancy).

It is also perfectly ok to request that a loved one get you a pregnancy massage voucher as a baby shower gift. I am sure they will appreciate a decent suggestion other than nappies.


5. Constipation


Ok, here’s one nobody wants to talk about publicly. Especially in the first trimester, this problem can be a absolute nightmare. I got to the point where I was just crunching down spoonful after spoonful of normacol (fibre supplement) each morning. The good news is that by the end of the first trimester you should have gone through the worst of it.


6. Frequent Urination


Well if the general discomfort of pregnancy isn‘t keeping you awake at night, I am sure the midnight trips to the bathroom certainly are. As baby grows, this problem is only exacerbated by the ever growing tiny human eliminating space in your abdomen and delivering sharp little jabs to your bladder.

Whatever you do, try to avoid sneezing with a full bladder at all costs.


7. Swelling


We all experience this one to differing levels, from just having your rings feel a little too snug after a long day, to looking like someone has placed rubber bands around your toes where they stick out from your chubby swollen feet.


8. Itchy skin


As our poor skin stretches to accommodate our little miracles growth, the skin can feel so tight and often incredibly itchy towards the back end of pregnancy. Please ladies, be kind to your skin and invest in a good moisturiser.


9. Shaving your legs


I am currently 35 weeks pregnant and this one is damn near impossible, the last time I attempted this, the bathroom was left looking like there had been a massacre.

Lets not even mention how horrendous it is to attempt the other bits and bobs.


Now ladies, this is just to name a few, the main ones that have plagued me throughout my pregnancies but I am fully aware there are many more that we suffer with, but that is my point exactly. . . Our little bundles of joy are a miracle, however SO ARE YOU!

Our bodies change and adapt in such a short space of time. With some help from that special one that assisted in conception, we are able to grow an entire human from what started as individual dividing cells. A little human with their own personality and quirks, a little human who knows only that you are their world, a little human that is instantly calmed by the sound of your oh so familiar heart beat, your scent, and your soothing voice.

You did that! You should be proud and cut yourself some slack. It’s ok, not to feel ok. It’s ok to ask for help where you can.

Because every superwoman needs some help from their sidekick from time to time.






2,814 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page