top of page

A labour of love.

If you are like me in the final stages of pregnancy and beginning to realise that the inevitability of labour is looming on the horizon, I wouldn't blame you if there are moments of anxiousness, anticipation, and whether it is your first bub or not, a fear of the unknown.

Whilst this is my 3rd pregnancy and soon to be 3rd labour experience, make no mistake that I have the same concerns as a soon to be first time mother.

My first labour experience was 23 hrs long and at the tender young age of 21 yrs old, I had no idea what was in store for me. I had a wonderful team of midwifes that guided me through the stages.

Second time around, I was induced after my waters had broken, on account of the fact that bub had evidently pooped. Once they begun that Syntocin IV, it was 55 min before my daughter made her dramatic entrance into the world.

So believe me when I say that I have no clue what is in store for me this time around and just like I'm sure most of you, that frightens me.


However, I think the best place to start is gaining an understanding of the pain and that it serves a purpose.

Pain during labour is caused by contracting of the muscles of the uterus to push the baby downwards and place pressure on the cervix, causing it to dilate and in turn create a path for the baby to descend down the birth canal and make their arrival.

During the different stages of labour contractions change.

In early labour, contractions last bout about 30-45 seconds, giving you 5-30mins rest in between.

In active labour, contractions last 45-60 seconds, with 3-5 mins rest in between.

In transitional phase, contractions last 60-90 seconds, with 30 seconds to 2 min in between. This stage is the hardest, and it is when your cervix is dilating between 8-10 cm, in preparation to begin the birth.


The important point to take away from this information is that all the pain is for a purpose, it is designed to ready our bodies to give birth to our little miracles. Your main focus should be that there is period of rest in between contractions and to know that when that pain starts to surge, that IT WILL END!


However we all cope differently and there is no shame in that, nor is there medals for being a hero and going pain relief free. There IS one ultimate prize once all is said and done and that is your baby, the one thing that makes the experience all worth it.

I mean, just look at how many of us go back to do it all over again.


So lets look into the ways of coping with the pain, both medicinal and non, because the biggest piece of advice I can give you is to go into the experience knowing your options. Do not restrict yourself to a structured plan that is bound to come up against obstacles that leave you disappointed. Have an understanding of all the options available to you and a general idea of what you would like, and just know that, in the end the most important thing is that you are able to deliver you baby with as little stress as possible so that you are able to enjoy those first precious moments of bonding.


Non-medicinal pain relief


Massage: Massage can aid in distracting you and heat packs can cause release of endorphins.

Water Immersion: Submerging yourself in a bath can relieve some of the pressure and general feeling of heaviness.

Relaxation and aromatherapy: Some people use essential oil diffusers or calming music accompanied by low lighting to assist in relaxation.

Sterile water injections: These are often used in back to back labour when baby is posterior, with their spin on yours. They can be useful in relieving back pain. (I personally had this problem with my first and found that they gave me great relief)

Breathing techniques: Can be useful as a distraction during contractions and in not exacerbating pain and frustration.


Medicinal pain relief


Nitrous Oxide: Also know as gas, or happy gas is a mouthpiece attached to tubing, it is mixed with oxygen and when breathed in when a contraction is beginning, it will not take away the pain but can take the edge off it.

Morphine or Pethidine injection: These are strong pain relievers and often are injected into the muscle in the buttock. The effects can last anywhere from two to four hours. The injection will not eliminate the pain completely.

Epidural: This is the most effective form of medicinal pain relief in labour. Anaesthetic is injected into the epidural space (near the spinal cord). This will leave you feeling numb from the waist down. However epidurals can often lengthen the second stage of labour, slowing the process down.


I know that having all this information doesn't absolve the anticipation you will have in the lead up to labour, but I sincerely hope it does make you feel a little better prepared, by going into it knowing the options available to you. I am sure their are non-medicinal methods I have not mentioned and feel free to enlighten me as to what has worked for you in the comments. I would love to hear your advice.


I will leave you with this little piece of knowledge I have acquired from my experiences.

Labour is an incredible experience unique to us all. It is a bonding experience for not only you and your new baby, but also with your partner/support person.

Labour is an accomplishment, something to be proud of. The things we go through to bring our little bundles into this world are just a snippet of what is to become a lifetime of unconditional love.



78 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Mandy Akamarmoi
Mandy Akamarmoi
Jan 23, 2020

The family happy to provide the calming melodies during labour. A bit of boys2 men, jagged edge and John legend...happy to oblige..😁

Like
bottom of page